Cancer Committee Membership

This list is current as of 01 January 2018.

Name TCPS 2 Roles & Specialties City
Lauren Birks, PhD Community Member (Population and Public Health) Calgary
Ellen Burgess, MD Scientific / Ethics (Nephrology / Pediatrics / Ethics) Calgary
Karen Campbell, Community Member Edmonton
Susan Chafe, MD Scientific (Pediatric Radiation Oncology/Law) Edmonton
Jennifer Chan, MD Scientific (Pathology) Calgary
Karen Chu, MD, FRCPC Scientific (Radiation Oncology) Edmonton
Dale Dewhurst, LLM, JD Ethics / Law (Virtue Ethics & Access to Justice) Edmonton
Allen Dong, P.Eng., MSc Community Member (Data Stewardship) Calgary
Katherine Duthie, PhD Ethics (Clinical Ethics) Edmonton
Alysa Fairchild, MD, FRCPC Scientific (Radiation Oncology) Edmonton
Sunita Ghosh, PhD Scientific (Biostatistics) Edmonton
Desiree Hao, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Calgary
Joanne Hewitt, PhD Scientific (Advanced Practice Nursing) St. Albert
Eve Hildebrand, BA Community Member Edmonton
Michael Kolinsky, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Edmonton
Jason Lau, PhD Privacy / Scientific (Medical Science) Edmonton
Richard Lee-Ying, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Calgary
Elena Liew, MD Scientific (Clinical Hematology) Edmonton
Beverley O’Brien, PhD Ethics (Nursing) Edmonton
Guy Pelletier, PhD Scientific (Psychosocial Oncology) Calgary
Gloria Roldán Urgoiti, MD, FRCPC Scientific (Medical Oncology) Calgary
Elizabeth Rosolowsky, MD Scientific (Pediatric Endocrinology) Edmonton
Fiona Schulte, PhD Scientific (Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology) Calgary
Anita Simon, PhD Community Member (Nutrition) Calgary
Keith Tankel, MD Scientific (Radiation Oncology) Edmonton
Jason Tay, BA, MB, BCh. BAO FRCP(C), MSc(Epi) Scientific (Hematology) Calgary
Raul Urtasun, MD Scientific (Radiation Oncology) Edmonton
Peter Venner, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Edmonton
John Walker, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Edmonton
Brent Windwick, QC, LLM Law (Health Law) Edmonton
Jackson Wu, MD Scientific (Radiation Oncology) Calgary
Xiaofu Zhu, MD Scientific (Medical Oncology) Edmonton


The HREBA Cancer Committee is constituted and operates in accordance with the:
– Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2, 2014);
– Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
– Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
– Health Canada’s Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), IRB # 00009687.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens.   Any member of the committee who is a Principal Investigator or a Co-Investigator on a study that is under review abstains from any discussion, voting, or approval of that study.  This also applies to initial and continuing reviews.


Previous lists of committee member and committee composition can be found here.