New Reportable Event Forms

February 1, 2018: There are new forms which are to be used beginning today: Local Adverse Events Report; Non-Local Adverse Events Report; Additional Reportable Events; and the Protocol Deviation Form. Click title above for link.

New Templates - CC and CHC

December 20, 2017: There are new templates for studies which are reviewed by the Cancer Committee and Community Health Committee. They cover the consent for optional research, the consent for participation in non-clinical trial research, and the protocol development for non-clinical trial research. Their use will be mandatory as of 01 February 2018. Click the title above for more information.

IRISS Outages

Update, April 24, 2018: During April and May 2018 the University of Calgary Information Technologies will be upgrading the IRISS platform to improve its usability. Outages will occur on the weekends. The confirmed and tentative schedule is posted on the IRISS website under "Planned Outages". Click the title above for the link.

HREBA’s Three Committees

The three committees of HREBA work together as one board. For a full list of all HREBA members, please click here.

Cancer Committee »

Cancer Committee »

The HREBA-CC provides ethical review of all new protocols and annual renewals of research studies involving human subjects and/or their personal information submitted by cancer researchers throughout the province.

Clinical Trials Committee »

Clinical Trials Committee »

The HREBA-CTC protects the public by conducting ethical reviews of clinical trials involving human subjects, or their information, submitted by registered Alberta physicians and health professionals.

Community Health Committee »

Community Health Committee »

The HREBA-CHC is a multi-disciplinary committee with members from across Alberta who review health research studies which are neither cancer related nor clinical trials, and are conducted in community settings.


The Institutional Research Information Services Solution

HREBA’s three committees manage all ethics submissions and reviews through the IRISS on-line platform.

If you are already familiar with the committee that you need to submit your ethics applications through, start by registering on IRISS.  Once you have registered you may submit your ethics application online.  If you have questions, contact

IRISS Registration IRISS Login IRISS Resource Page

Scheduled maintenance: Saturdays and Sundays from 12:00 am to 3:00 am

Service Outage
IRISS will not be available from Saturday, April 28 at noon to Sunday, April 29 at 11:00 pm.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Please ensure you are logged off the system during this time
as work that has not been saved will be lost.

A confirmed and tentative schedule of outages for spring 2018 is posted on the IRISS website  

IRISS Updates and Changes Page