

HREBA MEMBERSHIP

01 July 2025

Name	Board	TCPS 2 Roles & Specialties	City
Omar Abdel-Rahman Abdelsalam, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Alex Alexander, MD, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Bioinformatics, Machine Learning and Adaptive Computations)	Edmonton
Lauren Birks, PhD	Cancer Committee	Community Member (Population and Public Health)	Calgary
Ellen Burgess, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific / Ethics (Nephrology / Pediatrics)	Calgary
Karen Campbell	Cancer Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Brett Clelland, JD	Community Health Committee	Law (Intellectual Property)	Edmonton
Cheryl Currie, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee (Chair)	Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology)	London, ON
Sambasivarao Damaraju, PhD	Cancer Committee (Chair) Clinical Trials Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Cancer Genetics / Pharmacogenetics / Precision Medicine)	Edmonton
Lorna Dancey	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee	Community Member (Indigenous Representative)	Edmonton
Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee (Chair)	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Douglas Dawson	Cancer Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Sunil Desai, MD	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology / Oncology)	Edmonton
Katherine Duthie, PhD	Cancer Committee	Ethics (Clinical Ethics)	Edmonton
Carlos Flores-Mir, DDS	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Dental)	Edmonton
Sunita Ghosh, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Biostatistics)	Detroit, MI
Allen Habib, PhD	Community Health Committee	Ethics (Philosophy)	Calgary
Desiree Hao, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Joanne Hewitt, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Advanced Practice Nursing)	St. Albert
L. Jamie Hodge, P.Eng.	Cancer Committee Community Health Committee	Community Member	Calgary
Megan Hogendoorn, JD	Community Health Committee (Vice Chair)	Law	Edmonton
Sandra Johansen, PhD	Community Health Committee	Scientific (Methodologist)	Calgary
Yume Kobayashi, BN	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Nursing)	Edmonton
Richard Lee-Ying, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Debbie Mallett	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Mary Marshall, LLM	Cancer Committee	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Sylvia McCrudden, BSc Pharm	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Pharmacy)	Edmonton

Classification: Protected A



HREBA MEMBERSHIP

01 July 2025

Name	Board	TCPS 2 Roles & Specialties	City
Chris McTavish, PhD	Cancer Committee	Ethics	Edmonton
Albert Mehl, MD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Pediatrics)	Black Diamond
J. Ross Mitchell, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Biophysics)	Edmonton
Sean Nurmsoo, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Physician)	Edmonton
Jodi Parrotta, MA, CCRP	Clinical Trials Committee	Regulations	Lake Country, BC
Nimesh Patel, MPH	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee	Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)	Lethbridge
Robert Pearcey, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Neelan Pillay, MB. ChB.	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Neurology)	Calgary
Azadeh Nikoo Rajaee, MD, MHE, FRCSC	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (General Surgery)	Edmonton
Gloria Roldán Urgoiti, MD, FRCPC	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
James Sanders, PhD	Community Health Committee	Scientific Methodologist	Lethbridge
Mary-Pat Schlosser, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Pediatric Palliative Care)	Edmonton
Fiona Schulte, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Christopher Sikora, MD	Community Health Committee	Scientific (Physician)	Edmonton
Vivian Simpkin, BA, LLB	Cancer Committee	Law	Edmonton
Michael Smylie, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Melisa Spaling, CCRP, MEd	Clinical Trials Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Gordon Sustrik, LLB, KC	Cancer Committee	Law	Edmonton
Keith Tankel, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Nora Turenne	Cancer Committee	Community Member (Indigenous Representative)	Edmonton
A. Robert Turner, MD	Cancer Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Medical Oncology / Hematology)	Edmonton
M. Joan Turner, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Oncology, DNA repair/ Genetics, Radiation Biology)	Edmonton
Fatima Unwala, MD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Family Medicine)	Edmonton
Raul Urtasun, MD	Cancer Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, KC	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton
Jackson Wu, MD	Cancer Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Calgary
Sharlene Yanitski BA, LLB	Clinical Trials Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Philip Zachariah BA, JD	Clinical Trials Committee	Law	Calgary
Xiaofu Zhu, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton

Page 2 of 3



HREBA MEMBERSHIP

01 July 2025

HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta consists of three committees [the Cancer Committee (CC), Clinical Trials Committee (CTC), and Community Health Committee (CHC)] operating as one Research Ethics Board. As such, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence, and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration. Additionally, to maintain continuity in committee activities, one committee chair or vice chair may be invited to chair or co-chair another committees' meeting as needed.

The majority of the members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. HREBA is constituted and operates in accordance with the Alberta Health Information Act (HIA), the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2), Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH), Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5 and is registered with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) where required.

Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.

Classification: Protected A