

01 July 2025

Name	Role and Primary Specialty	City
Omar Abdel-Rahman Abdelsalam. MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Lauren Birks, PhD	Community Member (Population and Public Health)	Calgary
Ellen Burgess, MD	Scientific / Ethics (Nephrology / Pediatrics)	Calgary
Karen Campbell	Community Member	Edmonton
Sambasivarao Damaraju, PhD (Chair)	Scientific (Cancer Genetics/ Pharmacogenetics/ Precision Medicine)	Edmonton
Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Douglas Dawson	Community Member	Edmonton
Sunil Desai, MD	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology / Oncology)	Edmonton
Katherine Duthie, PhD	Ethics (Clinical Ethics)	Edmonton
Sunita Ghosh, PhD	Scientific (Biostatistics)	Detroit, MI
Desiree Hao, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Joanne Hewitt, PhD	Scientific (Advanced Practice Nursing)	St. Albert
L. Jamie Hodge, P.Eng.	Community Member	Calgary
Richard Lee-Ying, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Mary Marshall, LLM	Privacy/Law	Edmonton
Chris McTavish, PhD	Ethics	Edmonton
J. Ross Mitchell, PhD	Scientific (Medical Biophysics)	Edmonton
Sean Nurmsoo, MD	Scientific (Physician)	Edmonton
Robert Pearcey, MD	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Gloria Roldán Urgoiti, MD, FRCPC	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Mary-Pat Schlosser, MD	Scientific (Pediatric Palliative Care)	Edmonton
Fiona Schulte, PhD	Scientific (Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Vivian Simpkin, BA, LLB	Law	Edmonton
Michael Smylie, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Gordon Sustrik, LLB, KC	Law	Edmonton
Keith Tankel, MD	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Nora Turenne	Community Member (Indigenous Representative)	Edmonton
A. Robert Turner, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Medical Oncology / Hematology)	Edmonton
Raul Urtasun, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, KC	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton
Jackson Wu, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Calgary
Xiaofu Zhu, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton



CANCER COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

01 July 2025

The HREBA Cancer Committee (CC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the:

- Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2);
- Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
- Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
- Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), IRB # 00009687.

The HREBA-CC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence, and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration. Additionally, to maintain continuity in committee activities, one committee chair or vice chair may be invited to chair or co-chair another committees' meeting as needed.

To see a full list of the HREBA Membership click here.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.

Page 2 of 2