

## COMMUNITY HEALTH COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

13 December 2024

Name	Role and Primary Specialty	City
Brett Clelland, JD	Law (Intellectual Property)	Edmonton
Cheryl Currie, PhD (Chair)	Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology,)	London, ON
Lorna Dancey	Community Member (Indigenous Representative)	Edmonton
Allen Habib, PhD	Ethics (Philosophy)	Calgary
L. Jamie Hodge, P.Eng.	Community Member	Calgary
Megan Hogendoorn, JD (Vice-	Law	Edmonton
Chair)		
Sandra Johansen, PhD	Scientific (Methodologist)	Calgary
Debbie Mallett	Community Member	Edmonton
Nimesh Patel, MPH	Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)	Lethbridge
Christopher Sikora, MD	Scientific (Physician)	Edmonton

The HREBA Community Health Committee (CHC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2, 2014) and Alberta Health Information Act (HIA)

The HREBA-CHC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence, and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration. To see a full list of the HREBA Membership click <u>here</u>.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.