

## **CLINICAL TRIALS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

13 December 2024

Name	Role and Primary Specialty	City
Alex Alexander, MD, PhD	Scientific (Bioinformatics, Machine Learning and	Edmonton
	Adaptive Computations)	
Cheryl Currie, PhD	Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology)	London, ON
Sambasivarao Damaraju, PhD (Vice	Scientific (Cancer Genetics / Pharmacogenetics /	Edmonton
Chair)	Precision Medicine)	
Lorna Dancey	Community Member (Indigenous Representative)	Edmonton
Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD (Chair)	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Sunil Desai, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology, Oncology)	Edmonton
Carlos Flores-Mir, DDS	Scientific (Dental)	Edmonton
Yume Kobayashi, BN	Scientific (Nursing)	Edmonton
Debbie Mallett	Community Member	Edmonton
Albert Mehl, MD	Scientific (Pediatrics)	Black Diamond
Jodi Parrotta, MA, CCRP	Regulations	Edmonton
Nimesh Patel, MPH	Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)	Lethbridge
Neelan Pillay, MB.ChB	Scientific (Neurology)	Calgary
Azadeh Nikoo Rajaee, MD, MHE, FRCSC	Scientific (General Surgery)	Edmonton
Melisa Spaling, CCRP, MEd	Community Member	Edmonton
M. Joan Turner, PhD	Scientific (Oncology, DNA repair/ Genetics,	Edmonton
	Radiation Biology)	
Fatima Unwala, MD	Scientific (Family Medicine)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, KC	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton
Sharlene Yanitski BA, LLB	Community Member	Edmonton
Philip Zachariah BA, JD	Law	Calgary

The HREBA Clinical Trials Committee (CTC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the:

- Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2);
- Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
- Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
- Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, <u>Office for Human Research</u> <u>Protections (OHRP)</u>, IRB # 00001209.

The HREBA-CTC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence, and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration. To see a full list of the HREBA Membership click <u>here</u>.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.