

CANCER COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

11 April 2024

Name	Role and Primary Specialty	City
Lauren Birks, PhD	Community Member (Population and Public Health)	Calgary
Ellen Burgess, MD	Scientific / Ethics (Nephrology / Pediatrics / Ethics)	Calgary
Karen Campbell	Community Member	Edmonton
Sambasivarao Damaraju, PhD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Cancer Genetics/Pharmacogenetics/Precision Medicine)	Edmonton
Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Sunil Desai, MD	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology, Oncology)	Edmonton
Dale Dewhurst, LLM, JD (Chair)	Ethics / Law (Virtue Ethics & Access to Justice)	Edmonton
Katherine Duthie, PhD	Ethics (Clinical Ethics)	Edmonton
Alysa Fairchild, MD, FRCPC	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
David Fenton, BSc, MD, FRCPC	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Sunita Ghosh, PhD	Scientific (Biostatistics)	Edmonton
Desiree Hao, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Joanne Hewitt, PhD	Scientific (Advanced Practice Nursing)	St. Albert
Lloyd Jamie Hodge, P.Eng.	Community Member	Calgary
Richard Lee-Ying, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Mary Marshall, LLM	Privacy/Law	Edmonton
Chris McTavish, PhD	Scientific (Ethics)	Edmonton
Joseph Ross Mitchell, PhD	Scientific (Medical Biophysics)	Edmonton
Beverley O'Brien, PhD	Ethics (Nursing)	Edmonton
Robert Pearcey, MD	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Guy Pelletier, PhD	Scientific (Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Gloria Roldán Urgoiti, MD, FRCPC	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Mary-Pat Schlosser, MD	Scientific (Pediatric Palliative Care)	Edmonton
Fiona Schulte, PhD	Scientific (Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Vivian Simpkin, BA, LLB	Legal	Edmonton
Michael Smylie, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Gordon Sustrik, LLB, KC	Legal	Edmonton
Keith Tankel, MD	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Andrew Robert Turner, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology / Hematology)	Edmonton
Raul Urtasun, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, KC	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton
Jackson Wu, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Calgary
Xiaofu Zhu, MD	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton

The HREBA Cancer Committee (CC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the:

• Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2);



CANCER COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

11 April 2024

- Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
- Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
- Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), IRB # 00009687.

The HREBA-CC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence, and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration. To see a full list of the HREBA Membership click here.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.