

HREBA MEMBERSHIP

08 January 2024

Name	Board	TCPS 2 Roles & Specialties	City
Alex Alexander, MD, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Bioinformatics, Machine Learning and Adaptive Computations)	Edmonton
Lauren Birks, PhD	Cancer Committee	Community Member (Population and Public Health)	Calgary
Ellen Burgess, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific / Ethics (Nephrology / Pediatrics / Ethics)	Calgary
Karen Campbell	Cancer Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Patrick Chiu, PhD, RN, CGNC	Community Health Committee	Scientific (Methodologist)	Edmonton
Brett Clelland, JD	Community Health Committee (Vice-Chair)	Law (Intellectual Property)	Edmonton
Cheryl Currie, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee (Chair)	Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology)	Lethbridge
Sambasivarao Damaraju, PhD (Vice Chair)	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Cancer Genetics / Pharmacogenetics / Precision Medicine)	Edmonton
Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee (Chair)	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Sunil Desai, MD	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology / Oncology)	Edmonton
Dale Dewhurst, LLM, JD	Cancer Committee (Chair)	Ethics / Law (Virtue Ethics & Access to Justice)	Edmonton
Katherine Duthie, PhD	Cancer Committee	Ethics (Clinical Ethics)	Edmonton
Alysa Fairchild, MD, FRCPC	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Xiangning Fan, MD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Occupational Medicine)	Edmonton
David Fenton, MD, FRCPC	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Carlos Flores-Mir, DDS	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Dental)	Edmonton
Sunita Ghosh, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Biostatistics)	Edmonton
Allen Habib, PhD	Community Health Committee	Ethics (Philosophy)	Calgary
Desiree Hao, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Joanne Hewitt, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Advanced Practice Nursing)	St. Albert
Lloyd Jamie Hodge, P.Eng.	Cancer Committee Community Health Committee	Community Member	Calgary
Megan Hogendoorn, JD	Community Health Committee	Law	Edmonton
Sandra Johansen, PhD	Community Health Committee	Scientific (Methodologist)	Calgary
Yume Kobayashi, BN	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Nursing)	Edmonton
Richard Lee-Ying, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Debbie Mallett	Clinical Trials Committee Community Health Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Mary Marshall, LLM	Cancer Committee	Privacy / Law	Edmonton
Chris McTavish, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Ethics)	Edmonton
Albert Mehl, MD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Pediatrics)	Black Diamond



HREBA MEMBERSHIP

08 January 2024

		OO January	, === :
Name	Board	TCPS 2 Roles & Specialties	City
Beverley O'Brien, PhD	Cancer Committee	Ethics (Nursing)	Edmonton
Jodi Parrotta, MA, CCRP	Clinical Trials Committee	Non-Scientific (Regulations)	Edmonton
Nimesh Patel, MPH	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)	Lethbridge
	Community Health Committee		
Robert Pearcey, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Guy Pelletier, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Neelan Pillay, MB. ChB.	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Neurology)	Calgary
Azadeh Nikoo Rajaee, MD, MHE, FRCSC	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (MD, General Surgery)	Edmonton
Loralee Robertson, BSC , MLT Dipl.	Clinical Trials Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Gloria Roldán Urgoiti, MD, FRCPC	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Calgary
Mary-Pat Schlosser, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Pediatric Palliative Care)	Edmonton
Fiona Schulte, PhD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Pediatric Psychosocial Oncology)	Calgary
Christopher Sikora, MD	Community Health Committee	Scientific (Physician)	Edmonton
Michael Smylie, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Melisa Spaling, CCRP, Med, BA	Clinical Trials Committee	Community Member	Edmonton
Gordon Sustrik, LLB	Cancer Committee	Legal	Edmonton
Keith Tankel, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Andrew Robert Turner, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology / Hematology)	Edmonton
M. Joan Turner, PhD	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific (Oncology, DNA repair/ Genetics, Radiation Biology)	Edmonton
Raul Urtasun, MD	Cancer Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, QC	Cancer Committee Clinical Trials Committee	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton
Jackson Wu, MD	Cancer Committee (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Radiation Oncology)	Calgary
Don Zeman, PhD, RPsych	Clinical Trials Committee	Scientific, Ethics	Edmonton
Xiaofu Zhu, MD	Cancer Committee	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton



HREBA MEMBERSHIP

08 January 2024

The HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta consists of three committees [the Cancer Committee (CC), Clinical Trials Committee (CTC), and Community Health Committee (CHC)] operating as one Research Ethics Board. As such, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration.

The majority of the members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. HREBA is constituted and operates in accordance with the Alberta Health Information Act (HIA), the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2), Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH), Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5 and is registered with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP) where required.

Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.