

## **CLINICAL TRIALS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

21 June 2023

| Name                                | Role and Primary Specialty                          | City          |
|-------------------------------------|---|---------------|
| Cheryl Currie, PhD                  | Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology) | Lethbridge    |
| Brenda Davis, LLM, PhD (Chair)      | Privacy / Law                                       | Edmonton      |
| Sunil Desai, MD (Vice Chair)        | Scientific (Pediatric Hematology, Oncology)         | Edmonton      |
| Xiangning Fan, MD                   | Scientific (Occupational Medicine)                  | Edmonton      |
| Carlos Flores-Mir, DDS              | Scientific (Dental)                                 | Edmonton      |
| John Kennedy, MD, FRCPC             | Scientific (Psychiatry, Geriatrics,                 | Lethbridge    |
|                                     | Neuropsychopharmacology)                            |               |
| Yume Kobayashi, BN                  | Scientific (Nursing)                                | Edmonton      |
| Debbie Mallett                      | Community Member                                    | Edmonton      |
| Albert Mehl, MD                     | Scientific (Pediatrics)                             | Black Diamond |
| Jodi Parrotta, MA, CCRP             | Regulations   | Edmonton      |
| Nimesh Patel, MPH                   | Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)               | Lethbridge    |
| Neelan Pillay, MB.ChB               | Scientific (Neurology)                              | Calgary       |
| Azadeh Nikoo Rajaee, MD, MHE, FRCSC | Scientific (MD, General Surgery)                    | Edmonton      |
| Loralee Robertson, BSc, MLT Dipl.   | Community Member                                    | Edmonton      |
| Melisa Spaling, CCRP, Med, Bed, BA  | Community Member                                    | Edmonton      |
| Joan Turner, PhD                    | Scientific (Oncology, DNA repair/ Genetics,         | Edmonton      |
|                                     | Radiation Biology)                                  |               |
| T. Edward Vant (Ted), MD            | Scientific (Family Medicine)                        | Calgary       |
| Brent Windwick, LLM, QC             | Law (Health Law)                                    | Edmonton      |

The HREBA Clinical Trials Committee (CTC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the:

- Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2);
- Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
- Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
- Health Canada's *Food and Drug Regulations* (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), IRB # 00001209.

The HREBA-CTC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.