

CLINICAL TRIALS COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

04 October 2022

Name	Role and Primary Specialty	City
Cheryl Currie, PhD	Scientific (Quantitative / Qualitative methodology)	Lethbridge
Sunil Desai, MD (Vice Chair)	Scientific (Pediatric Hematology, Oncology)	Edmonton
Ann Marie Dewhurst, PhD	Non-Scientific (Ethics)	Edmonton
Xiangning Fan, MD	Scientific (Occupational Medicine)	Edmonton
Carlos Flores-Mir, DDS	Scientific (Dental)	Edmonton
John Kennedy, MD, FRCPC	Scientific (Psychiatry, Geriatrics,	Lethbridge
	Neuropsychopharmacology)	
Yume Kobayashi, BN	Scientific (Nursing)	Edmonton
Debbie Mallett	Non-Scientific (Community Member)	Edmonton
Albert Mehl, MD	Scientific (Pediatrics)	Black Diamond
Jodi Parrotta, MA, CCRP	Non-Scientific (Regulations)	Edmonton
Nimesh Patel, MPH	Scientific (Quantitative Methodology)	Lethbridge
Neelan Pillay, MB.ChB	Scientific (Neurology)	Calgary
Azadeh Nikoo Rajaee, MD, MHE, FRCSC	Scientific (MD, General Surgery)	Edmonton
Loralee Robertson, BSc, MLT Dipl.	Community Member	Edmonton
Francine Swanson, BA, LLB(H)	Non-Scientific (Law)	Calgary
Joan Turner, PhD	Non-Scientific (Community Member)	Edmonton
T. Edward Vant (Ted), MD	Scientific (Family Medicine)	Calgary
Peter Venner, MD (Chair)	Scientific (Medical Oncology)	Edmonton
Brent Windwick, LLM, QC (Vice-Chair)	Law (Health Law)	Edmonton

The HREBA Clinical Trials Committee (CTC) is constituted and operates in accordance with the:

- Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2);
- Alberta Health Information Act (HIA);
- Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines of the International Conference on Harmonization (ICH);
- Health Canada's Food and Drug Regulations (FDR), Part C, Division 5.

The committee is registered with the U.S Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP), IRB # 00001209.

The HREBA-CTC is one of three committees which comprise the HIA-designated Health Research Ethics Board of Alberta. Since the three committees operate as one Research Ethics Board, members from one committee may attend another committee's meeting when their expertise is required. This ensures that members in attendance have the specific expertise, relevant competence and knowledge necessary to provide an adequate research ethics review of the proposals under consideration.

The majority of the committee members are Canadian citizens or permanent residents under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. Members named as Principal Investigators or Co-investigators on a study that is under review do not participate in discussions related to, nor vote on, such studies when they are presented; this applies to initial and continuing reviews.